Modern Computer System Architectures

Code: MSC-23

Description: Introduction to Computer Architecture and reference to the basic immutable architecture principles of any computer system. Parallelism and parallel architectures. Fast interconnecting networks. VPN (Virtual Private Network).  Virtual Machines. Cloud Computing. Data Centers. Future Aspects.

Objectives: The architecture of a computer system is the basis upon which the whole structure of the software is built. Modern computer systems architectures have moved from the traditional sequential execution on a single processor to the execution on multiprocessor, especially multi-cores. In addition, advanced architectures allow the complex interconnection of multiple computer systems enabling them to handle demanding applications or offer cloud computing services. The interconnection options both within the system and between systems play a crucial role in the overall performance. The course of Modern Computer Systems Architectures offers students the necessary knowledge and skills needed to gradually build a network of interconnected computers, starting from the architecture inside each computer, which can be used as a datacenter or a clouding computing provider.

Teaching Methods: a) lectures, b) laboratory demonstration, c) group assignments, d) students’ presentations, e) Invited lectures

Recommended Reading:

  1. J. Hennesy, D. Patterson. “Computer Architecture: A Quantitative Approach”, 5th Edition Morgan Kaufmann 2011
  2. D. Patterson , J. Hennesy. “Computer Organization and Design: The Hardware/Software Interface”, Revised Fourth Edition, Morgan Kaufmann 2011
  3. Kris Jamsa, «Cloud Computing», Jones & Bartlett Learning 2012.

Prerequisites: -

Website: at


9 υποτροφίες

Το πρόγραμμα προσφέρει συνολικά εννέα (9) υποτροφίες στις καλύτερες επιδόσεις κάθε κατεύθυνσης σε κάθε εξάμηνο, οι οποίες καλύπτουν το σύνολο ή μέρος των διδάκτρων.

Πλήρους Μερικής Φοίτησης

Το Π.Μ.Σ. προσφέρει τη δυνατότητα πλήρους φοίτησης και μερικής φοίτησης. Η χρονική διάρκεια για την απονομή του Μεταπτυχιακού Διπλώματος Ειδίκευσης ορίζεται σε τρία (3) ακαδημαϊκά εξάμηνα για το πλήρους φοίτησης, ενώ για το μερικής φοίτησης η χρονική διάρκεια διπλασιάζεται.

Μεταπτυχιακό Πρόγραμμα Σπουδών

Στο Π.Μ.Σ. γίνονται δεκτοί ως υποψήφιοι πτυχιούχοι Τμημάτων Πανεπιστημίων της ημεδαπής ή αναγνωρισμένων ομοταγών ιδρυμάτων της αλλοδαπής, καθώς και πτυχιούχοι Τμημάτων ΤΕΙ συναφούς γνωστικού αντικειμένου.

Department of Informatics & Telematics - 2017