Department of Informatics and Telematics

The meeting of the advisory committee of the Department of Informatics and Telematics took place on February 7th 2022. The international advisory committee consists of highly distinguished academics from around the world and aims to contribute in the strategic planning and academic growth of our Department, promoting its internationalization and reputation.


During the meeting, which was held online with the participation of several faculty members including  the University’s Rector Prof. Mara Nikolaidou, the Dean of the School of Digital Technology, Prof. Thomas Kamalakis had the opportunity to present the current status of the Department regarding the undergraduate and postgraduate curricula, the doctoral programme, the impact of the Department’s research output, quality assurance and other key areas. 


This presentation can be found in the Department’s youtube channel at the following link:


Following the presentation, the members of the advisory committee engaged in fruitful discussions with the faculty members concerning action points on several key aspects related to the Department’s growth including:

  • Means of further nurturing research output and enhancing  our research development strategy, including the 

the attraction of additional research funds.

  • Activities for promoting the internationalization of the Department, offering international study  programs and summer schools.

  • Building an interdisciplinary  strategy to enhance the Department’s reputation in national and international level


The benefit of synergistic partnerships with esteemed colleagues and the pursuit of international advice to promote our Department profile proved itself during our meeting.


The faculty members of the Department wish to express their gratitude to all current and past members of the Advisory Committee and ensure them we are looking forward to our constructive  collaboration in the years to come.

Special thanks to the current members of the advisory committee Prof. Dimitris Karagiannis, Prof. Nikolay Mehandjiev, Prof. Schahram Dustdar, Prof. Kecheng Liu, Prof. John Mylopoulos, Prof. Oscar Pastor, Prof. Pericles Loucopoulos, Prof. Kalle Lyytinen for their strong support and encouragement !!!!